Actions for teaching “As a Child…”

So, yeah, about flipcharts, they are really not my thing. I am new in this calling and I reserve the right to change my mind, but right now they’re just not doing it for me.

Instead I’m working on actions (going to try ASL) and using pictures from the gospel art picture kit (Could not believe this went out of print!!!).

For “As a child of God” here is my plan:

Vs 1: I (point to self) came to earth (make a fist RH and touch your thumb and middle finger to each end; picture of earth) with power (two boxer’s fists move from close to chest up and out) to choose (pick with your right hand something off your LH first or second fingers with thumb and index finger). Good (right hand flat fingers at mouth falls down to palm of other hand) choices (optional choose) bless me and my family (‘f’ with each hand make a circle; family picture) too.

Chorus: As a child (pat child’s head; picture of child praying) of God I receive (hands, fingers spread come together in fists one on top of the other; pic of gift) special light (hands start fingers together, move to “popcorn” action. pic of light) The Holy Ghost helps me (R thumbs-up on open L palm, L hand helps fist come in to self. pic helping) to know (RH palm down taps at temple) what is right (R fist moves on top of L fist pointer fingers extended.)

Vs 2: I feel (R hand palm towards chest, brushing middle finger up your chest to your breastbone) so safe (like a reverse love-fists crossed on chest then open them) and happy (two hands palms down brushing up your chest to your smiling face) because such feelings of peace (two hands palms together rotate (like washing hands) then separate, palms down) come from family (‘f’ with each hand make a circle; family picture) love (ASL-arms crossed across heart hands in fists).

Vs 3: In my own home (outline a roof and walls with flat hands) I’ll happily serve (hands at chest level palms up, alternate back and forth). I’ll strengthen (optional: same as power-two boxer’s fists move from close to chest up and out) my family (‘f’ with each hand make a circle; family picture) by my Good (right hand flat fingers at mouth falls down to palm of other hand) works.

I am not trained in ASL. I made this up on my own and it’s not intended to be a translation, simply a learning aid for the kids. I may modify or completely change some of the signs in order to help the kids–we’ll see how it goes!

A good resource for ASL video

One thought on “Actions for teaching “As a Child…”

  1. […] and think I cannot try, (explain the difference between know and think. we learned know in “As a Child of God“) I will be courageous, and I will […]

Leave a Reply

