ASL for Verse 2 and 3 of Choose the Right

I realized that some of you may be wanting to teach the second verse this Sunday, so here’s my simplified ASL. By simplified I mean that we are only doing some of the signs, not translating directly. I do teach the kids the accurate sign. I guess you could say I simplify the lyrics but not the words?

2. Choose the right! Let no spirit of digression
Overcome you in the evil hour.
There’s the right and the wrong to ev’ry question;
Be safe thru inspiration’s pow’r.

3. Choose the right! There is peace in righteous doing.
Choose the right! There’s safety for the soul.
Choose the right in all labors you’re pursuing;
Let God and heaven be your goal.

Notes:

  • a lot of the signs we have already used in “As a Child of God” and I may go back and add the signs for “Holy Ghost” to that song.
  • For digression I used the sign for “stray.” They use the same sign in the ASL Hymn video.
  • I used the sign for time instead of hour since the context means time, not an actual hour.
  • I can’t wait to teach the kids the sign for “inspire” that looks exactly like what inspire feels like to me :0)
  • I chose to use this sign for soul because it has a more spiritual connotation than the other one. Please feel free to disagree with me!
  • “pursue” is going to be fun too. ‘here is one hand pursuing, or trying to catch up to or follow the other one.”
  • “Heaven” has a lot of variations, I chose the one I think the kids will like best.

Update: final (?) version

1. Choose the right when a choice is placed before you.
In the right the Holy Spirit guides;
And its light is forever shining o’er you,
When in the right your heart confides.

Choose the rightChoose the right!
Let wisdom mark the way before.
In its lightchoose the right!
And God will bless you evermore.

2. Choose the right! Let no spirit of digression
Overcome you in the evil hour.
There’s the right and the wrong to ev’ry question;
Be safe thru inspiration’s pow’r.

3. Choose the right! There is peace in righteous doing.
Choose the right! There’s safety for the soul.
Choose the right in all labors you’re pursuing;
Let God and heaven be your goal.

Leave a Reply

