July 1 Patriotic Plan

Last night was the performance of the Musical Theater camp I put on for kids 6-12. It was awesome and amazing, but it didn’t help me get my primary plan for July done on schedule.

So, here’s my last minute plan for a patriotic 1st of July.

https://i1.wp.com/www.militarytrader.com/wp-content/uploads/American-Flag-Wall-Art.jpg

;

We’re going to learn the first verse of “America the Beautiful” and after the kids have got it down pretty good I’ll give them a section of patriotic streamer to wave while we sing it again! I’m also going to introduce our pioneer day songs: the handcart song, and little pioneer children. I’m going to wear my daughter’s sun bonnet. Then, we’ll read the scripture references and tie in to Nephi’s Courage for the closing song to review.

For senior primary we’ll do the rest of the verses (with the kids reading out of the hymnbook) and “My Country, Tis of Thee.” We may also practice the harmony part of CTR (it sounds so cool!)

;

You’ve got to watch the Church’s ASL video for this Hymn, it is breathtaking.

Hymns, America the Beautiful, no. 338

1. Oh, beautiful for spacious skies,
For amber waves of grain, (yellow, golden)
For purple mountain majesties (“mountain” starts very similar to the sign for “rock“)
Above the fruited plain! (“plains” ends with the sign for “land”)
America! America!
God shed his grace on thee, (I’m going to do the sign for blessing that we already know)
And crown thy good with brotherhood (brotherhood is the same as “one another”)
From sea to shining sea.

2. Oh, beautiful for pilgrim feet,
Whose stern, impassioned stress
A thoroughfare of freedom beat
Across the wilderness!
America! America!
God mend thine ev’ry flaw,
Confirm thy soul in self-control,
Thy liberty in law.

3. Oh, beautiful for heroes proved
In liberating strife,
Who more than self their country loved,
And mercy more than life!
America! America!
May God thy gold refine,
Till all success be nobleness,
And ev’ry gain divine.

4. Oh, beautiful for patriot dream
That sees beyond the years
Thine alabaster cities gleam,
Undimmed by human tears!
America! America!
God shed his grace on thee,
And crown thy good with brotherhood
From sea to shining sea.

Text: Katherine Lee Bates, 1859–1929

Music: Samuel A. Ward, 1848–1903

2 Nephi 1:5–7

1 Nephi 13:12–16

;

Hymns, My Country, ’Tis of Thee, no. 339

1. My country, ’tis of thee, (America)
Sweet land of liberty, (“Liberty” is the same as “freedom” but with “L” hands)
Of thee I sing;
Land where my fathers died,
Land of the pilgrimspride,
From ev’ry mountainside
Let freedom ring! (for “ring” I’m going to use “sound“)

2. My native country, thee,
Land of the noble free,
Thy name I love;
I love thy rocks and rills,
Thy woods and templed hills.
My heart with rapture thrills
Like that above.

3. Let music swell the breeze
And ring from all the trees
Sweet freedom’s song;
Let mortal tongues awake;
Let all that breathe partake;
Let rocks their silence break,
The sound prolong.

4. Our fathers’ God, to thee,
Author of liberty,
To thee we sing;
Long may our land be bright
With freedom’s holy light.
Protect us by thy might,
Great God, our King!

Text: Samuel F. Smith, 1808–1895

Music: From Thesaurus Musicus, London, 1744

2 Nephi 1:7

Ether 2:12

Leave a Reply

