More Rocks!

Last week I taught the meaning of “The Wise Man and the Foolish Man,” talking about building our lives on the rock of the Gospel of Christ. In Sr Primary I had the kids “find a rock” by telling me a gospel principle they heard in the song we just sang (we sang some of the program songs)

I want to do the same kind of meaning review this week, so I thought some more about rocks.

I’m going to bring in a container of crystal-cut beads. You can buy a package of 300 in almost any variety of colors for about $3 at a craft store and use a coupon to bring the price down even more.

I’m going to introduce the beads by explaining that gems are rocks. I’ll probably bring in another garden rock just for comparison. Some rocks are harder than others. If I can find a soft rock I may break it with a hammer. Some people think that Diamonds are the hardest rock in the world. Diamonds are the hardest rock to scratch. However, they are not the hardest rock to smash. Corundum gems (sapphire and ruby) are almost as hard to scratch, but they resist smashing much better. Man-made sapphire is used to make windows for airplanes and armored cars. I’ll ask the kids if they’ve ever seen a car windshield with a crack in it and explain that sapphires are so hard that you can hit them with a hammer and they won’t crack. I’ll ask them, “Would you like to be protected by something that hard and strong?”

So, now that I’ve made gems interesting to the boys as well as the girls, I will compare the Gospel of Jesus Christ to this kind of rock. A pure, sparkling rock, very hard and able to withstand all the problems and trials of life. Then we’ll sing “The Wise Man Built his house upon the rock.”

For the rest of the time we’re going to review the program songs we didn’t get to last week. The kids will get a rock (bead) for every gospel principle they can identify in the songs. In Jr primary I’ll try to give each kid one bead. For Sr I’ll let them earn as many as they want.

For Jr Primary I haven’t decided if I’ll give them their rocks at the beginning or the end. Sometimes having something to play with helps them focus, but sometimes it’s distracting. I’ll take the mood of the group and decide what to do, but I think I’ll give each of them a bead when I start talking about rocks. I can always have them put them under their chairs.

If we had fewer kids in the primary (we have about 75) I would bring some thread and needles and let the teachers make each kid a necklace.

Leave a Reply

