Still Trying to be like Jesus…

At this point the Sr Primary knows the first verse and understands what they are singing mostly.

Jr Primary knows the chorus really well with ASL keywords.

For Week Two of “I’m Trying to be like Jesus” I’m going to work with Jr Primary on verse 1 and Sr Primary vs 2. I have been racking my brains to find some visual imagery for “Try” and I finally did a Google image search for the word and this is what I came up with:

BRAINSTORM!! I’m going to bring in the book (Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss) and read the appropriate pages (53-62). Then we’re going to have a great discussion about what it means to “try to be like Jesus”

Henry B. Eyring

“Love is the motivating principle by which the Lord leads us along the way towards becoming like Him, our perfect example. Our way of life, hour by hour, must be filled with the love of God and love for others. There is no surprise in that, since the Lord proclaimed those as the first and great commandments. It is love of God that will lead us to keep His commandments. And love of others is at the heart of our capacity to obey Him.”

President Uchtdorf

“Jesus Christ instructed His Apostles at the beginning of His mortal ministry, “[Come,] follow me, and I will make you fishers of men” (Matthew 4:19). We need to “follow Him,” and as we do this, the Savior will bless us beyond our own capacity to become what He wants us to be.

To follow Christ is to become more like Him. It is to learn from His character. The Savior invites us to learn His gospel by living His teachings. Ancient and modern prophets described it with three words: “Keep the commandments”—nothing more, nothing less.

The scriptures describe a number of Christlike attributes we need to develop during the course of our lives. They include knowledge and humility, charity and love, obedience and diligence, faith and hope.”

I’ve picked out some pictures of Jesus from the gospel art kit (you can download print out LDS pictures here if you want). I’m going to put them on the board and briefly share the stories that go with each one, emphasizing how Jesus or the other person is showing the love of God or another attribute of Christ. Also on the board I’ll have pictures I printed out from the 2012 outline online (the link is in August) that went with the first verse. Then I matched them together (with a few other pictures):

I’m Trying to be like Jesus

I’m following in His ways

I’m trying to love as He did

In all that I do and say

At times I am tempted to make a wrong choice

But I try to listen as the still, small voice whispers;

I’m going to have the Jr Primary come up and hold the picture that go with the line we’re learning. We may play a matching game if time permits. For Sr primary we’ll continue on with the second verse. Here are the pictures I’m going to use for vs 2:

I had to draw a lot of them myself…

2 thoughts on “Still Trying to be like Jesus…

  1. kerrimadurai says:

    I love it. I appreciate the sweet message of the song, a song that welcomes the Holy Ghost into many hearts as we sing. I appreciate that your lesson plan reflects that message and does not detract from it.

Leave a Reply

